Distinguished Achievement Award

This award recognises, and honours exceptional achievements in the fields of sleep health and sleep science by ASA members. This award is presented by the Australasian Sleep Association at its annual scientific meeting.

It is awarded to an individual member who has either made: (i) a high impact, highly original and important contribution, or (ii) ongoing sustained, and significant contributions to the fields of sleep health and sleep science in Australasia and internationally.

These achievements may include, but are not limited to, research, education, policy development.

Distinguished Achievement Award Nomination form [PDF] - Members Only

Distinguished Achievement Award Nomination form [DOC] - Members Only


2018: Professor Peter Cistulli, University of Sydney

Peter Cistulli has been working in the field of sleep medicine since graduating from Sydney University more than 30 years ago. His career in sleep medicine began with a PhD looking at sleep-disordered breathing in Marfan's syndrome, working with Colin Sullivan. Even at this early stage, his academic rigour, intellectual curiosity and clinical excellence were recognised and he was immediately recruited to establish the Centre for Sleep Disorders and Respiratory Failure at St George Hospital, in 1994. Since that time, Professor Cistulli has developed a national and international reputation for excellence and leadership in clinical service and research. He has119 refereed journal publications, numerous monographs and book chapters and is an invited speaker at every significant national and international sleep meeting. Professor Cistulli is the recognised world leader in the field of oral appliances in the management of obstructive sleep apnoea and has been instrumental in raising the international profile and recognition of Australasian research worldwide. In addition, he served as President of the Australasian Sleep Association in 2003-2005 and has been on the Board of the Sleep Health Foundation since 2011. In 2005 he was recruited to the Chair of Respiratory Medicine at the University of Sydney and Royal North Shore Hospital and in 2015 he became the inaugural appointee to the ResMed Chair in Sleep Medicine, based at the Charles Perkins Centre, University of Sydney. Within this highly diverse multidisciplinary environment he established the Sleep Theme as a new research theme informing the activities of the centre. In parallel he has established a comprehensive sleep research program that spans bench to bedside and to public health.

Professor Cistulli had contributed to all aspects of sleep medicine for 3 decades. He has a stellar, internationally recognised and lauded research and academic career, as well as being recognised for clinical excellence. He has made significant contributions to both the Australasian Sleep Association and the Sleep Health Foundation and mentored numerous post-graduate students.

Past recipients 

2017: Professor Nicholas Antic, Repatriation General Hospital

2016: Professor Leon Lack, Flinders University

2015: Professor Matthew Naughton, The Alfred Hospital

2014: Professor Rosemary Horne, The Ritchie Centre

2013: Dr David Hillman, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital

2012: Professor John Trinder, University of Melbourne, Dept of Psychological Sciences

2011: Professor Doug McEvoy, Repatriation General Hospital, Adelaide

2010: Professor Ron Grunstein Department of Respiratory and Sleep Medicine, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, NSW

2009: Professor John Wheatley

2008: Professor Colin Sullivan Department of Medicine, University of Sydney, NSW


Upcoming Event Dental Sleep Medicine 2019 16 Oct - 18 Oct 2019 VIEW EVENT